Monterey Bay Aquarium

I woke up early this morning and donned my seaweed green sweater and a nautical blue and white striped headband. My coral t-shirt and faded fisherman skinny jeans complimented them perfectly. We were going to the aquarium! First we stopped at a fun little restaurant called First Awakenings. I had a fantastic frittata that truly was a “vegetarian delight”. It was only a block or two away from the aquarium, so we walked there. As soon as we went in we visited the sea otters! These active sea creatures were both adorable and funny. Then we moved on to the deep reef exhibit, which I especially enjoyed. This exhibit was occupied by octopi, starfish, sea anemones, and rockfish. It was like going into a whole new world! Them we moved on to the camouflage artists that had colors and patterns to blend in with their surroundings. This could be any kind of animal; crabs, fish, or even a sting ray like creature called a skate.

Next were the penguins; they were so playful and fun! They swam, squawked, and waddled while we watched. my mom was especially interested in them, and she must have played with them for 15 minutes! Then we went to see the jellyfish, which I loved. They were in the Open Sea exhibit along with tunas, sardines, and sea turtles! There were so many different kinds of jellyfish, and I was really surprised to see that. I liked the moon jelly because they were flat but fat with short stingers. After that we saw the sardines, who moved in breathtaking formations and flashed dazzling silver.

Even with all of these inspiring creatures, I truly love sea turtles. I have since I was little. I used to do research and made little reports for school or my family. They have always had an indescribable quality that I adored.

At the very end of our trip, we went to the gift shop! I got a lovely pink tee shirt with a octopus on it! Then we had to get going so we could make it home in time. But all in all, I loved getting to sees the aquarium, and better than ever!

20120102-211410.jpg

20120102-211443.jpg

20120102-211509.jpg

20120102-211527.jpg

20120102-211542.jpg

20120102-211640.jpg

20120102-211706.jpg

20120102-211726.jpg

20120102-211752.jpg

20120102-211805.jpg

20120102-211820.jpg

20120102-211835.jpg

20120102-211848.jpg

20120102-211911.jpg

20120102-211954.jpg

20120102-212010.jpg

4 responses

  1. Always love to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It is a true treasure trove of the sea. Glad you enjoyed your visit there and hope you get down this way again soon. Love Uncle Glenn.

  2. I am so glad that you had a wonderful visit to the Aquarium. Sorry we were not there to tour it with you. You are a terrific writer……your words made me feel like I was there with you. By the way, your mom probably spent so much time with the penguins becasue she knows they are truly my favorites. I love their spunky personality and can do attitude.
    Look forward to reading more of your blog.
    XOXO Leanne

  3. Our family’s future journalist (or perhaps she’s already there!). Great job, Marjorie, and yes, it was big fun touring the Aquarium with you and your sister. Makes me feel like a kid again myself. Love you!

  4. Can’t believe my favorite sea animal is also the Sea Turtle. I could have watched for hours when we visited the Aquarium last summer. When we were in Hawaii I was fortunate to swim with a group of 30 Sea Turtles. One of the best moments of my life! Glad you had a great time. Both Uncle Dave and I agree with you dad, you are a journalist!!!!

Leave a Reply

